University of Agricultural Sciences, Dharwad

About the Institution



University of Agricultural Sciences, Dharwad is a state agriculture university established by the Government of Karnataka which imparts Education, Research and Extension activities in the fields of Agriculture, Forestry, Food science, Agricultural marketing and Home science. Evolving from a first Indian cotton research station established in 1904, a full-fledged university (University of Dharwad) was started in 1986. It has 5 Colleges, 30 Research Stations, 6 Extension Education Units, 5 Krishi Vigyan Kendras and Agriculture Technology Information Centre (ATIC). Institute of Agri-biotechnolgy ( IABT) and Institute Organic Agriculture are major research institutes of the university. PG studies are present at two colleges, college agriculture Dharwad and Vijayapura. The University has its jurisdiction over 7 districts namely Bagalkot, Belgaum, Vijapura, Dharwad, Gadag, Haveri, and Uttar Kannada in Northern Karnataka. Greater diversity exists in soil types, climate, topography cropping and farming situations. Climatically this area includes dry-farming to heavy rainfall and irrigated area. Important crops of the region include Cotton, Sorghum, Rice, Pulses, Chilli, Sugarcane, Groundnut, Sunflower, Wheat, Safflower etc. The region is also known for many horticultural crops. For all these crops, research is going in coordination with all scientists of different disciplines, called as All India Crop Improvement Projects funded by both ICAR and University. Incubation facilities are also available in the University for promoting agriculture based entrepreneurships.

Take a tour

University of Agricultural Sciences, Dharwad

UASD is a state agriculture university established by the Government of Karnataka.

About the local coordinator

IS Katageri

Prof. Ishwarappa S. Katageri is a Professor of Genetics and Plant breeding, presently working as Editor, at University of Agricultural Sciences Dharwad (UASD), India. He has made significant contributions to the field of cotton genomics, genetic transformation, and molecular breeding. He obtained MSc (Agri) and PhD in Genetics and Plant Breeding (UASD), worked as a Post Doc in the Nottingham University (UK) and received Higher Trainings in Texas A&M University and University of Georgia (USA). Prof. Katageri has been working in cotton research since 1987, registration of four cotton varieties and four hybrids for commercial cultivation in south zone of India developed through pest resistance breeding. On his exposure to in vitro regeneration of cotton during his visit at Texas A&M University (3 months) with Dr Jean Gould, Plant tissue culture techniques at University of Nottingham (6 months as Common wealth fellow) with Dr Powar and Cotton genomics at University of Georgia (2 months as visiting scientist) with Dr. Andrew Patterson, he started working on molecular breeding and fibre genomics. Developed mapping populations, molecular marker linkage maps and identified QTLs for fibre and seed cotton yield and its contributing traits, with his work published in Euphytica, Plant breeding Journal, and Indian Journal of Genetics and Plant breeding. His fibre genomics work is published in BMC genomics, Plant Biotechnology Journal, and Plant Molecular Biology. For all these research work, Dr. Katageri received competitive funding from the Indian Council of Agriculture Research, GoI and Department of Biotechnology, GoI. He was one of the team members in receiving ICAR National Award for Outstanding Inter-disciplinary Team Research in crop improvement for increasing cotton productivity. Dr. Katageri is a recipient of Shri. Ramanath Iyer National Award for cotton fiber quality improvement, from Indian Society for Cotton Improvement, Mumbai, recognized as a Fellow of Indian Society for Genetics and Plant Breeding, New Delhi and Cotton Research and Development Association, Hissar, and also, recognized with Professional Excellence Award by Society for Cotton Research and Development, Hissar in 2020. He presented paper during 5 ICGI conferences and 3 WCRC outside India and is teaching PG and UG courses. Under his guidance 25 students have completed MSc and 10 completed PhD. Recently, Prof. Katageri has taken up new project on genome editing through CRISPR-Cas9 for suppressing gossypol in cotton seed to make cotton wonderful oil seed crop. In collaboration with Karnataka State Seeds Corporation (KSSC), Government of Karnataka (GoK), and UASD, he has converted parents of 14 cotton hybrids into Bt version using Monsanto event, licensed by KSSC. DCH32 Bt cotton hybrid developed in this process is approved for commercial cultivation by GoI. He has published 96 full length papers, 59 abstracts in conferences, 32 full length papers in conferences, 6 booklets, several folders.

Connect with us

Agricultural University of Athens
Iera Odos 75, Athens, 11855, GREECE

  • dummy+30 210 5294213

  • dummy

AdaptNET is funded by the ERASMUS+ program of the European Union.
The author bears all the responsibility for the information contained in this web site.
The Education, Audiovisual and Culture  Executive Agency and the European Commission are not responsible for any use that can be made of the information.